ducatipaso.org
http://forums.ducatipaso.org/

Chain alignment
http://forums.ducatipaso.org/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8099
Page 1 of 1

Author:  AmcG [ Mon Apr 01, 2019 9:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Chain alignment

Hi

So monster wheel is centered and spaced. All good so far.

The chain alignment it’s 5 mm out.

I need to move the gearbox sprocket out to align. Has anyone any experience or suggestions about how to do this? Can you reverse the sprocket with the locking plate fitted engine side?

Thanks for looking...

Author:  Derek [ Tue Apr 02, 2019 8:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Chain alignment

There shouldn't be any difficulty reversing the sprocket if it gives you the right chain alignment. Some of the other models have different shoulders, changing the offset.

Author:  AmcG [ Tue Apr 02, 2019 10:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Chain alignment

Thanks Derek

Anyone else experimented with this?

Author:  paso750 [ Thu Apr 04, 2019 2:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Chain alignment

You need to move the sprocket outwards and want to install it reversed with the locking ring on the inside? If you would do that the chain position would move inwards if not remain the same.
The ring sits almost at the outer end of the shaft. Installing the sprocket on the outside of the ring is not possible. Also if the ring was on the inner side how would one install the screws and tighten them?

This is one possible solution
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=5429

There may be other Ducati spockets that could work. The one of the 750 Sport probably has too much offset. Also you'd have to take into account what chain you have installed. According to Ian Falloon the very first P750 had a 530 chain which then was replaced with a 520.

G.

Author:  AmcG [ Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Chain alignment

Once again, bob on Paso 750. I had a look last night and there is no simple solution just using a different sprocket. Using the threaded Centre hole on the shaft is the way to go. I had thought about a plate attached to end of the output shaft that was machined to offer the groove necessary to use the original fixing. Obviously the solution needs the sprocket to have movement on the splines.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/