Dell'Ortos?

discussion about the 750 Sport and '89/'90 900SS, which share many mechanicals with the Paso series
Danielmc
model: 750 Sport
year: 1990

Dell'Ortos?

Post by Danielmc »

Hi,

Having been riding my new 750 Sport for a month, I've decided that the Weber has to go. I'm no expert where carbs are concerned, and I do believe that this device can probably be made to function acceptably but I lack the time and skill to start meddling with it.

I've decided to buy a Malossi kit which has two Dell'Orto 40mm carbs on short manifolds. The question I need answering is whether I can remove the fuel pump and use a gravity feed on these carbs? I think that the float bowls will be well below the bottom of the tank, so I'm optimistic. Also, if I can junk the pump, can I remove all the in-tank plumbing and blank off the return?

Final point - Loudbike Steve talks about mounting split FCRs on "the Malossi short manifolds that came with the Sport", does this mean I can reuse the existing manifolds for the Dells without spending money on new Malossi manifolds?
Maico88

Re: Dell'Ortos?

Post by Maico88 »

First, you can run the dellortos without a fuel pump. However, if you are going to do that you must remove the lines in the tank. They are easy to remove, but would be very difficult to put back. I have run my Sport for quite a while with no pump. Second, 40mm seems to be a bit large for a bike to run on the street. I have 36mm dellortos and am quite pleased with the way the bike runs.
ducinthebay
paso grand pooh-bah

Post by ducinthebay »

yeah, what Maico says.

You need the Malossi short manifolds for a Pantah engine, or a Sport/Paso. (If you swap the stock manifolds on the cylinders, the front cylinder will be in correct orientation, but the back one will not be) Manifolds for the SS series and Monsters are only usable if you get the FCR carbs, which are actually down draft carbs. The Dellortos are side draft.