Coil Relay installation.

discussions specific to the 906 Paso
A 9ASO
model: 906 Paso
year: 1991

Coil Relay installation.

Post by A 9ASO »

Hi guys,
I hope that someone can clarify something for me regarding the coil mods.
I apologise, but I am not an electrician and rather than making a mistake I would be grateful if someone can help me.
I have looked at the advice from Romus, Jonathan Slocum, David Hooau and paso750.
I have bought a pair of dc3-1 Dynatek coils to make a better job and my problem is what to do with the wiring that seems to be connected to the ignition system that is not mentioned. in particular the pink on the rear coil and the yellow/green on the front. I assume that these need to be connected back to the orange (9) and the Yellow/Green (11) on the digiplex.
I am mounting the relay on the wiring side of the tool tray and there seem to be a number of possible connections that may be made and I wonder if there is a preferred point, e.g. cutting into the red at the connector block where the Black/Green from the fuse is connected to the Red, Brown and Purple OR from the Red closer to the coils themselves with this cable pulled through from the connector block. ?
Another thing is the fuse rating to br used JS uses a 10Amp and Romus and DA use a 20Amp ?
Thanks for any information.
paso750
paso grand pooh-bah
model: 750 Paso
year: 1987

Re: Coil Relay installation.

Post by paso750 »

there`re different places in the wiring loom were a relay can be placed.
The pink and the yellow/green are the ground signal (-) that the coils get from the Digiplex unit.
The red wires are the 12V connections. What you see in this simplified picture is one red wire which connects both coils. The second red wire on the first coil is the 12V feed (running via the ignition switch).
What you do is cut this wire at a suitable point and implement the relay.
A 10A fuse will be fine.
Attachments
P906 wiring diagram colour.jpg