Front sprocket, just came of...

discussion about the 750 Sport and '89/'90 900SS, which share many mechanicals with the Paso series
tek_tuk

Front sprocket, just came of...

Post by tek_tuk »

Hey there all!
A short while back I got me a, visually, quite descent 89-sport.
Now, when autumn, dampness and darkness descends over the grim north and the garage is warmer and friendlier than the open road I have started picking it apart.
Imagine my novice surprise when I started a drive line change and, after the sprocket cover came of, there was absolutely nothing to keep the sprocket on to the drive shaft.
I am quite new to bikes overall, all my knowledge is from cars, but after digging around on forums I have realized that there are a couple of versions on the sprocket carrier and the plate but...
The front sprocket that came of has a plate welded to it the plate has a hole. The driveshaft has one centric and threaded hole but it seems somewhat damaged.
The new sprocket has two smaller holes adjacent to its splined center. I have no retainer plate what so ever.
I checked the original sport workshop manual and I couldn't quite make out how the retainer plate keeps the sprocket in place but it shows the retainer plat and the two adjacent holes and screws.
Do I need to get an entirely new drive shaft here or whats my best way out.

Can anyone help an enthusiastic Ducati novice out here, I will try to get some pictures up as soon as possible but any primary thoughts will be very appreciated.

Thanks alot,
Horst
Stockholm
Sweden
Tamburinifan
paso grand pooh-bah
model: 907 I.E.
year: 1991

Re: Front sprocket, just came of...

Post by Tamburinifan »

I checked the original sport workshop manual and I couldn't quite make out how the retainer plate keeps the sprocket in place but it shows the retainer plat and the two adjacent holes and screws.
Retainer plate mount holes fixates the plate a little offset towards the splines.
So therefore it locks to the sprocket & gear shaft.